Down’s All-Star Record (1971 to 2022)

We love All-Star history & stats here at All-Star Gazing, so in the run up the 2023 GAA PwC All-Star selections on the 17th November, we are taking a look at the All-Star roll of honour from 1971 to 2022, county by county.

Here we review Down’s All-Star record. A county with awards in both codes led by 3-time All-Star Greg Blaney. The 1st play to be decorated was the legend Sean O’Neill, who was selected on the very 1st All-Star team in 1971. He repeated this achievement the next year in 1972.

Gerard McGrattan entered the hurling All-Star records when he was selected in the forward position in 1992.

35 Football All-Star Awards

1971Seán O’NeillFull Forward
1972Seán O’NeillFull Forward
1975Colm McAlarneyCentrefield
1978Colm McAlarneyCentrefield
1981Paddy KennedyFull Back
1983Liam AustinCentrefield
1983Greg BlaneyLeft Half Forward
1990James McCartan JnrLeft Full Forward
1991Conor DeeganFull Back
1991Barry BreenCentrefield
1991Ross CarrRight Half Forward
1991Greg BlaneyCentre Half Forward
1994Michael MagillDefender
1994Paul HigginsDefender
1994DJ KaneDefender
1994Gregory McCartanMidfield
1994Greg BlaneyForward
1994James McCartan JnrForward
1994Mickey LindenForward
2010Brendan McVeighGoalkeeper
2010Daniel HughesHalf Forwards
2010Martin ClarkeHalf Forwards
2010Benny CoulterFull Forwards

All-Star Gazing – The Book

For lots more history, stories, photos and the Roll of Honour for every county, checkout ‘All-Star Gazing’ the book which is available to purchase online here:

Eileen Dunne & Moira Dunne at the All-Star Gazing Launch in Croke Park 2011

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *