Derry’s All-Star Record (1971 to 2022)

Derry’s First All-Star Anthony McGurk on the US All-Star Tour in 1974

(2nd from Right)

We love All-Star history & stats here at All-Star Gazing, so in the run up the 2023 GAA PwC All-Star selections on the 17th November, we are taking a look at the All-Star roll of honour from 1971 to 2022, county by county.

Here we feature Derry, a county with 29 football All-Star awards achieved by 19 players. Anthony McGurk was the county’s 1st All-Star when he was selected at Left Full Forward on the 1975 team. An All-Star again two years later, McGurk achieved a special record when he was this time selected in defence at Centre Half Back. His brother Johnny was also hounoured in 1993.

The Derry Roll of Honour is led jointly by two players with 4 awards, Anthony Tohill and Tony Scullion

29 Football All-Star Awards

1975Anthony McGurkCentre Half Back
1975Gerry McElhinneyRight Half Forward
1984Dermot McNichollLeft Full Forward
1987Tony ScullionLeft Full Back
1987Brian McGilliganCentrefield
1992Tony ScullionDefender
1992Anthony TohillForward
1992Enda GormleyForward
1993Tony ScullionDefender
1993Johnny McGurkDefender
1993Henry DowneyDefender
1993Gary ColemanDefender
1993Anthony TohillMidfield
1993Brian McGilliganMidfield
1993Enda GormleyForward
1995Tony ScullionDefender
1995Anthony TohillMidfield
1996Joe BrollyForward
1997Joe BrollyForward
1998Seán Marty LockhartDefender
2000Kieran McKeeverDefender
2000Anthony TohillMidfield
2004Enda MuldoonForward
2007Kevin McCloyFull Backs
2007Paddy BradleyFull Forwards
2022Chrissy McKaigueDefender
2022Conor GlassMidfielder

All-Star Gazing – The Book

For lots more history, stories, photos and the Roll of Honour for every county, checkout ‘All-Star Gazing’ the book which is available to purchase online here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *