Cork’s All-Star Record (1971 to 2022)

Leading Dual Star Cork’s Jimmy Barry Murphy in ‘77

(Mid Row, 4th from Left)

We love All-Star history & stats here at All-Star Gazing, so in the run up the 2023 GAA PwC All-Star selections on the 17th November, we are taking a look at the All-Star roll of honour from 1971 to 2022, county by county.

Here we feature Cork a county with a remarkable All-Star record in both codes. Dual star Jimmy Barry Murphy was chosen 7 times: 5 times on the Hurling All-Star team and 2 times on the Football All-Star team.

Overall Cork’s 112 hurling awards puts them 2nd behind Kilkenny and 64 football awards puts them 3rd after Kerry & Dublin.

112 Hurling All-Stars

1971Tony MaherRight Full Back
1971Ray CumminsFull Forward
1972Tony MaherRight Full Back
1972Con RocheLeft Half Back
1972Denis CoughlanCentrefield
1972Charlie McCarthyRight Full Forward
1972Ray CumminsFull Forward
1974John HorganLeft Full Back
1974Con RocheLeft Half Back
1975Gerald McCarthyCentrefield
1976Denis CoughlanLeft Half Back
1976Pat MoylanCentrefield
1976Mick MaloneRight Half Forward
1976Jimmy Barry MurphyLeft Half Forward
1976Seánie O’LearyLeft Full Forward
1977Martin O’DohertyFull Back
1977John HorganLeft Full Back
1977Denis CoughlanLeft Half Back
1977Tom CashmanCentrefield
1977Jimmy Barry MurphyCentre Half Forward
1977Charlie McCarthyRight Full Forward
1977Ray CumminsFull Forward
1977Seánie O’LearyLeft Full Forward
1978Martin O’DohertyFull Back
1978John HorganLeft Full Back
1978Denis CoughlanLeft Half Back
1978Tom CashmanCentrefield
1978Jimmy Barry MurphyRight Half Forward
1978Charlie McCarthyRight Full Forward
1979Brian MurphyRight Full Back
1979Martin O’DohertyFull Back
1979Dermot McCurtainRight Half Back
1980Dermot McCurtainRight Half Back
1980Pat HorganCentre Half Forward
1981Brian MurphyRight Full Back
1982Tim CrowleyCentrefield
1982Tony O’SullivanRight Half Forward
1982Pat HorganCentre Half Forward
1983Tom CashmanLeft Half Back
1983John FentonCentrefield
1983Jimmy Barry MurphyFull Forward
1984Ger CunninghamGoalkeeper
1984Johnny CrowleyCentre Half Back
1984Dermot McCurtainLeft Half Back
1984John FentonCentrefield
1984Tomás MulcahyRight Full Forward
1984Seánie O’LearyLeft Full Forward
1985Ger CunninghamGoalkeeper
1985John FentonCentrefield
1986Ger CunninghamGoalkeeper
1986Denis MulcahyRight Full Back
1986John FentonCentrefield
1986Tony O’SullivanRight Half Forward
1986Tomás MulcahyCentre Half Forward
1986Jimmy Barry MurphyFull Forward
1986Kevin HennessyLeft Full Forward
1987John FentonCentrefield
1988Tony O’SullivanLeft Full Forward
1990Ger CunninghamGoalkeeper
1990John ConsidineRight Full Back
1990Seán O’GormanLeft Full Back
1990Jim CashmanCentre Half Back
1990Tony O’SullivanLeft Half Forward
1990John FitzgibbonLeft Full Forward
1991Jim CashmanCentre Half Back
1991Cathal CaseyLeft Half Back
1991John FitzgibbonLeft Full Forward
1992Brian CorcoranDefender
1992Seánie McCarthyMidfield
1992Tony O’SullivanForward
1993Seán O’GormanDefender
1993Barry EganForward
1999Dónal Óg CusackGoalkeeper
1999Fergal RyanDefender
1999Diarmuid O’SullivanDefender
1999Brian CorcoranDefender
1999Seánie McGrathForward
1999Joe DeaneForward
2000Diarmuid O’SullivanDefender
2000Joe DeaneForward
2003Seán Óg Ó hAilpínDefender
2003Ronan CurranDefender
2003Setanta Ó hAilpínForward
2003Joe DeaneForward
2004Wayne SherlockDefender
2004Diarmuid O’SullivanDefender
2004Ronan CurranDefender
2004Seán Óg Ó hAilpínDefender
2004Jerry O’ConnorMidfield
2004Niall McCarthyForward
2004Brian CorcoranForward
2005Pat MulcahyDefender
2005Diarmuid O’SullivanDefender
2005John GardinerDefender
2005Seán Óg Ó hAilpínDefender
2005Jerry O’ConnorMidfield
2005Ben O’ConnorForward
2006Dónal Óg CusackGoalkeeper
2006Brian Murphy (C)Full Backs
2006Ronan CurranHalf Backs
2006Jerry O’ConnorMidfielders
2008Ben O’ConnorHalf Forwards
2012Anthony NashGoalkeeper
2013Anthony NashGoalkeeper
2013Séamus HarnedyHalf Forwards
2013Patrick HorganFull Forwards
2017Mark ColemanDefender
2017Patrick HorganForward
2018Darragh FitzgibbonMidfield
2018Séamus HarnedyForward
2018Patrick HorganForward
2019Patrick HorganForward

64 Football All-Stars

1971Ray CumminsCentre Half Forward
1972Kevin Jer O’SullivanLeft Half Back
1973Billy MorganGoalkeeper
1973Frank CoganRight Full Back
1973Brian MurphyLeft Full Back
1973Kevin Jer O’SullivanLeft Half Back
1973Dinny LongCentrefield
1973Jimmy Barry MurphyRight Full Forward
1973Ray CumminsFull Forward
1974Declan BarronCentre Half Forward
1974Jimmy Barry MurphyRight Full Forward
1975Dinny LongCentrefield
1976Brian MurphyLeft Full Back
1976Dave McCarthyCentrefield
1978Declan BarronCentre Half Forward
1980Kevin KehilyFull Back
1980Denis “Dinny” AllenCentre Half Forward
1982Kevin KehilyLeft Full Back
1983John EvansLeft Full Back
1983Jimmy KerriganLeft Half Back
1987John KerinsGoalkeeper
1987Colman CorriganFull Back
1987Niall CahalaneRight Half Back
1987Larry TompkinsCentre Half Forward
1988Colman CorriganFull Back
1988Niall CahalaneRight Half Back
1988Shea FahyCentrefield
1988Larry TompkinsCentre Half Forward
1989Conor CounihanCentre Half Back
1989Tony DavisLeft Half Back
1989Teddy McCarthyCentrefield
1989Dave BarryRight Half Forward
1989Larry TompkinsCentre Half Forward
1989Paul McGrathRight Full Forward
1990John KerinsGoalkeeper
1990Stephen O’BrienFull Back
1990Michael SlocumRight Half Back
1990Conor CounihanCentre Half Back
1990Shea FahyCentrefield
1990Paul McGrathRight Full Forward
1993Joe KavanaghForward
1993Colin CorkeryForward
1994Stephen O’BrienDefender
1995Mark O’ConnorDefender
1995Stephen O’BrienDefender
1999Kevin O’DwyerGoalkeeper
1999Anthony LynchDefender
1999Ciarán O’SullivanDefender
1999Philip CliffordForward
2002Anthony LynchDefender
2006Ger SpillaneHalf Backs
2006Nicolas MurphyMidfielders
2007Graham CantyFull Backs
2009Michael ShieldsFull Backs
2009Graham CantyHalf Backs
2009John MiskellaHalf Backs
2009Pearse O’NeillHalf Forwards
2009Daniel GouldingFull Forwards
2010Michael ShieldsFull Backs
2010Paudie KissaneHalf Backs
2010Graham CantyHalf Backs
2010Aidan WalshMidfielders
2012Aidan WalshMidfielders
2012Colm O’NeillFull Forwards

All-Star Gazing – The Book

For lots more history, stories, photos and the Roll of Honour for every county, checkout ‘All-Star Gazing’ the book which is available to purchase online here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *